The time to start is now

Standard

Programmes on Radio 4 often provide me with inspiration and moments to reflect. On a recent panel debate, one of the guests said something to the effect of don’t worry about instant perfection just get out there and do it.

She’s spot on. I can remember numerous occasions when I have held back from taking action because the timing hasn’t been quite right or the product hasn’t been quite as good as I’d like it to be. At the time it seems sensible but if I’m honest I recognise there was also an underlying fear of having these ‘imperfections’ or mistakes judged. 

Watching my son make mistakes it is clear to see how this is the process of learning and developing. 

As adults, we can be experts at confusing fear with wisdom. 

Leave a Reply

